Shooting birds with my new Sigma 18-200

Two weeks ago we (my wife and me) went for a bicycle ride to the “Blauwekamer”. This is a protected area where horses and cows are walking freely and where there are a lot of birds. Of course I took my camera with me because I wanted to look how well my new “super zoom” lens was performing.  When we came there one of the first animals we saw was this cow that was walking on the path to us.

It just passed by and I could take a few photos of it. After that we went to this bird lookout and watched some birds. I was rather shocked with the fact that I couldn’t get the birds as close as I wanted them to have. Apparently they should still be pretty close to be a major part in the image.

And I finally managed to shoot a flying bird as well.

I didn’t do much in postprocessing. I did some cropping and played a little bit with the colours. The copyright text was added using a plugin in Bibble.

I am really happy with my new lens. It has a lot of advantages over the nikon kit lens I have, (image stabilization, bigger zoom, etc.) but for bird photography, especially flying birds, you probably need an even bigger lens…

Leave a Reply

